Caimito (Star Apple)

By: ccsamaniego

Mar 31 2009

Category: Food

2 Comments

Aperture:f/5.6
Focal Length:48mm
ISO:500
Shutter:1/30 sec
Camera:NIKON D40X

One of the things that makes me excited about summer is it’s the season for caimito (star apple). We have this really, really, old tree in my Lola’s house that never fails to bear this sweet fruit. I would always look up and say a silent prayer to the tree: “bear, bear thy fruits”. And my heart leaps upon the sight of its flowers. I am suprised that not too many people have a penchant to caimito, like most of my relatives. My Lola will be kind enough not to let anyone pick [all] the ripe fruits not until I am around during the weekends. For two consecutive Sundays now, I would always stay longer in my Lola’s house after church service and use the long panungkit to pick ripe caimitos (to the delight of Titas who also likes this fruit). I also teach my younger cousins to eat caimito. Ha! See  I am not that selfish!

dsc_0546

2 comments on “Caimito (Star Apple)”

  1. This blog’s great!! Thanks :).

  2. lahvet… sarap! 🙂


Leave a Reply

