Kitchen Test: Pastillas

By: ccsamaniego

Sep 13 2011

Tags:

Category: Kitchen Test (Recipes)

Leave a comment

Aperture:f/5.6
Focal Length:50mm
ISO:800
Shutter:1/14 sec
Camera:NIKON D40X

Pastillas is a popular sweet delicacy for us Filipinos. I tried to look at its direct translation at Google translate and the word pastilla  means “tablet, piece, bar, drop, cake…”. Basically, just like many of our local delicacies, pastillas is made of milk and sugar. So when I found this recipe, I’ve decided to do if myself. The result turned out to be too rich and soft.  It can’t hold its form . I made two variants: original (rolled into sugar) and cocoa-coated.  It also turned out to be a bit greasy because of the butter. So for my first attempt, it wasn’t that bad. All I need to do is to lessen the liquid component to achieve that consistency and form that I’am looking for. The taste actually reminds me of the pastillas in Kabigting’s Halo-halo. That rich. 🙂

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

